Hollywood Star – Villanelle

 

Hollywood Star.

When we met in the September’s heat one lonely night
They were playing soft Jazz in the Bertolt Brecht bar
Where she was sipping mojitos in the shadows of a flickering light.

I noticed her sulky red lips and her dress all glittering white
She asked me to drive her somewhere, anywhere not far
When we met in the September’s heat one lonely night.

The Jazz switched to latin and couples were holding tight
I said let’s Salsa and away from drinking at the bar
Where she was sipping mojitos in the shadows of a flickering light.

She crossed her legs, flashing her bare thighs for my sight
What happened here, she whispered and caressed my facial scar
When we met in the September’s heat one lonely night.

I said, it’s a sad reminder over a woman I lost in a fight
We could go to a room, she smiled and I lit up my cigar
Where she was sipping mojitos in the shadows of a flickering light.

She asked me for money, to help pay for her flight
As she told me of her dreams of being a hollywood star
When we met in the September’s heat one lonely night
Where she was sipping mojitos in the shadows of a flickering light.

5 responses to “Hollywood Star – Villanelle

  1. Delightful storytelling!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful! I look forward to these! Best, June

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

