Orbiting the Moon

Orbiting the moon.
Mother stood staring out of the open window
As I walked along the gravel garden path
She looked through me as If I was hollow
But I smiled and waved and saw her laugh

We sat on the veranda with jam and scones
She asked where I had been all these years
Were you travelling in space polishing stones?
I can’t remember, she said and wiped her tears

I showed her pictures of my growing family
My children as babies then going on to school
Who are these people? I can’t see them clearly
Oh yes she said, your father, the stubborn fool

We walked to the park and sat by the lake
She told me she was proud of her beloved son
The first Scots astronaut who promised to take
Her sightseeing, past Mars and orbiting the moon

Is it time to go? she said and held my hand
She pulled up the travel rug against the chill
How long will it take and where will we land?
She rested on my shoulder and slipped away
As I watched the sun sinking over the hill.

 

lake-696098__340

2 responses to “Orbiting the Moon

  1. So beautiful and moving.

    Like

Leave a Reply

