Traditional Christmas Sentiment.

My piece below is a reflection on a well known Christmas Ghost Story.

Mr Scrouge.

I was never happy nor gave a festive care
When carol singers screeched outside my door.
They seemed so full of seasonal Christmas cheer
With good tidings and joy that I found such a bore.

My name is Mr Scrouge not Santa Claus.
I didn’t give presents and I didn’t send cards
Nor hung baubles or tinsel on a coniferous tree
Instead I’d count my gold and cackle aloud with glee.

Then I saw an apparition over St Nicholas’s church in town
A ghostly creature laughing, his finger pointing down
Mr Scrouge, he called, your time on Earth is running out
What use is your pointless life full of bitterness and doubt.

What do I care of others and your empty ghostly threats
I am off to the bookies now to collect my winning bets.
Then a tiny ragged boy appeared holding out an empty bowl
Sir, he said, my mother’s dying, please a penny for her soul.

And from the dirty rags in the doorway by the ironmonger Jacks
She rose up and I saw an evil face laughing on a boney rack
Her skeleton chattered, Mr Scrouge, it is clear for all to see
That death is knocking on your door, but you’ll never be free

My heart stopped beating, I shivered and felt a creeping cold
The ragged boy and mother laughed at my life becoming mould
I cried for an Angel to rescue me from this dark despotic death.
So I promised to spend my wealth to end all poverty on Earth.

The boy and mother warmed me from a pitiless lonely end
And we celebrated Christmas with all their wondrous friends
It cost me all my hard earned gold to bring them happiness and good cheer
And so the moral of my sad story to you must now be very clear.
That having lots of family and friends at Christmas is wonderfully dear.

12 responses to “Traditional Christmas Sentiment.

  1. Wonderfully written, delightful story! Wishing you a merry Christmas and a joyous new year.

    Like

  2. Lovely stuff James – really enjoyed this! Merry Christmas – look forward to swapping stories and comments with you through 2017 and beyond.

    Like

  3. Love it. 🙂 So nice to have a poem that RHYMES. Happy Christmas James an wishing you a peaceful New Year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Nor hung baubles or tinsel on a coniferous tree” That line gets you membership in the boreal primeval club. Mind the roots.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You said it so well, James. Merry Christmas

    Like

  6. This delightful poem kept me smiling through my morning coffee! Thanks and Merry Christmas! June

    Like

Leave a Reply

