Caught in a Stalker’s Web

Thank you, Rochelle, for posting the picture prompt. Click on her name for more details about Friday Fictioneers.

Read more stories by other contributing writers, HERE. 

That some female spiders devour their mate seems counterproductive, and I do not know why. This week’s picture of a dark spider’s web made me think of the widow-family of spiders and how they must trap the poor male. My story expands on the idea of a female predator and how the unwitting male becomes ensnared in her trap. 

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Caught in a Stalker’s Web

Norman turned away from Laticia’s fixation and grey magnetic eyes. He fumbled with his iPhone and knocked over the cola that spilled down his jeans.
He picked up his backpack and dashed out of the café.

Why was the bus always late?
She came striding towards him. Should he run?
‘Hello, Norman.’ The hairy wisps around her lips quivered.
‘Laticia I can’t—’
‘I’ve bought sheen stockings.’

He blushed at his irresistible urge to wear silk.
Laticia kissed his ear. ‘I’ll shave your legs.’

‘No. Go away, Laticia.’
‘Norman! Look.’

In stockings and otherwise naked; his picture on her iPhone.

39 responses to “Caught in a Stalker’s Web

  1. He’s a lost soul. Doomed, I tell you. Nice one.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hm. Maybe facing the fallout would be better than endlessly remaining hostage to more and more blackmail. Poor sod.

    Like

  3. We all know she’s just going to eat him. Why prolong the agony? Poor Norman; he has no backbone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Control and manipulation. Deadly combination!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It was interesting to see a male’s POV about a ‘predatory’ female. 🙂 Black widows are not the only species where the female eats the male after mating or where the male dies after copulation. Apparently, death by sex is a successful evolutionary strategy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh my!! There are people like that…

    Like

  7. I just heard an article on NPR about this sort of thing happening to teenagers. Altered pictures made, money demanded to keep them off the internet. You’d think people would have better things to do. Very provocative piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like where the picture took you, I’m not sure he did though!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That’s a convoluted little tale. I do feel sorry for the guy – trapped by the weaker sex – oh his love of nylon I suppose. – Diane

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ooooo blackmail
    Nicely done
    She is a creeper that’s for sure. Run!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m sorry to say, James, that anything that cuts down on the population of spiders, I am all for (haha).  I have a feeling Norman is going to be trapped.  I felt his anxiety and fear.  Very well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. michael1148humphris

    A story that made me smile, poor Norman

    Liked by 1 person

  13. She’s creepier than a spider!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Two very intriguing characters here. Both have some issues I’d dare to suggest. I can just see Norman squirming here, and no wonder. Laticia is scary.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Dear James,

    Oh my! She has Norman’s number. I’d say he is caught in this spider’s web. This sent shivers.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Yikes! Well, I guess he’ll learn to be more careful where he wears–um–next to nothing 🙂

    Like

  17. Wasn’t one of the tag lines for “The X-Files,” “They’re out there.” For every vulnerable person there’s an opportunist waiting to exploit them. I hope he’s able to she’d the exploiter before he takes desperate measures.

    I saw you asked someone if they’d seen Baby Reindeer. I watched it even as it chilled my blood. I do appreciate the guy acknowledging how his earlier victimization played into the dynamic between he and his stalker.

    Like

    • Thank you. I have not watched the film, but I am following the drama around the film. A woman is claiming to be defamed by the film and intends to sue.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome. It’s actually a mini-series on Netflix. Afaik he never used real names of anyone in the series. If she wants to air her dirty laundry to the world it doesn’t surprise me. If even half of the stuff she did in the series is true, she will probably thrive on the negative attention. She needs treatment (and so does the main character!)

        Liked by 1 person

  18. typo: she’d is supposed to be shed but maybe a Freudian slip?

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Yikes!! She’s a devious piece of work. A shivery tale, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.