The Other Woman

Thank you Rochelle, (click here for her blog), for another reminder that Friday comes along too quickly. Susan’s picture made me think of a French renovation project, even though I have never lived in France.

More contributions to Friday-Fictioners are available HERE.

PHOTO PROMPT © Susan Rouchard

The Other Woman

The room was once a stable, and they built in a connecting door to the hallway.
John called it his den. A bric-a-brac dump, Mary thought. 

What did he do there all day?
Mary sat up in bed, feeling dejected. He’s left me, that’s it. Progressively, he had become emotionally uncaring and keeping out of reach.

He flirted with Janette, and with Anne in the bookshop, and Doreen in the café.
He promised an idyllic retirement together on this renovated farm.
She loved him, although hated his infidelity.

He’s gone missing.
Soon, his wife will have to know.

Mary smiled.

40 responses to “The Other Woman

  1. Lovely twist at the end

    Like

  2. Gosh! Mary wasn’t his wife then!
    Mary was responsible for him having gone missing, correct?
    His wife will have a shock.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary doesn’t seem to upset by his disappearance, perhaps she’d had enough of the lifestyle

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh dear. I fear I just got a crick in my neck from that twist. Nicely one, James.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “Tell me I’m the only (other) one.” If he’s cheating once, there’s no reason to believe he won’t do it again. Well played with the twist ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. When someone goes missing from the farm it’s a good idea to check the pig pen. But quickly… Good twist.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Sounds like Mary got fed up and might have a secret of her own. Good twist at the end!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I wasn’t expecting that! Nice one, James.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. it looks like he’d be missing in action for good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great cliffhanger, James. Mary will be fine with the renovated farm for retirement.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Surprise ending! And I can’t help but wonder if Mary and his wife won’t become good friends 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. It looks like he must have been having difficulty juggling around all of these woman. Perhaps, he was ready to move on.
    Mmmm … so many roads this story can travel. Interesting …

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Bang! What a twist!
    I guess it’s karma lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oh, I do love a curve ball; I’ve delivered a few myself. This was a finely pitched one. Well done, James!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Oooooooo a twist. Mary doesn’t know. Or does she…
    So the woman he is having the affair with is being cheated on and doesn’t like it? Irony.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. You can’t trust a fellow like that, its best to be rid of him. Good on Mary.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Love that twist at the end. I can imagine all sorts of scenarios now. He really is quite a ladies’ man it seems. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Dear James,

    He is a rolling stone, isn’t he? Methinks Mary has a little revenge planned.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Ooh, deliciously complicated. Was shocked to learn Mary was not his wife. I wonder if the “other women” started sharing notes and decided to turn him into fertilizer?

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Took me for a ride here. But an enjoyable journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Part of me thinks that John just went looking for a new special friend. The other part of me really doesn’t trust Mary! Nice twist on the end!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.